Wake Up, Philippines!

He sends roses even after death

Posted in Celebrations by Erineus on February 15, 2009

RED roses were her favorites, her name was also Rose. And every year her husband sent them, tied with pretty bows.

The year he died, the roses were delivered to her door. The card said, “Be my Valentine,”
like all the years before.”

* * *

Each year he sent her roses, and the note would always say, “I love you even more this year, than last year on this day. My love for you will always grow, with every passing year.”

She knew this was the last time that the roses would appear.

* * *

He ordered roses in advance before Valentine’s Day. Her loving husband did not know, that he would pass away. She trimmed the stems, and placed them in a very special vase.

Then, sat the vase beside the portrait of his smiling face.

* * *

A year went by, and it was hard to live without her mate. Then, the very hour, as on Valentine’s before, the doorbell rang, and there were roses, sitting by her door. She brought the roses in, and then just looked at them in shock.

She went to get the telephone, to call the florist shop.

* * *

The owner answered, and she asked him if he would explain, Why would someone do this to her, causing her such pain? “I know your husband passed away, more than a year ago.”

The owner said, “I knew you’d call, and you would want to know.”

* * *

“The flowers you received today, were paid for in advance. Your husband always planned ahead. There is a standing order, and he has paid well in advance; you’ll get them every year.

* * *

“There also is another thing that I think you should know. He wrote a special little
card. Should I find out that he’s no longer here, that card should be sent to you the following year.”

She thanked him and hung up the phone, her tears now flowing hard. Her fingers shaking, as she slowly reached to get the card.

* * *

Inside the card, she saw a note he had written to her, which said: “Hello my love, I know it’s been a year since I’ve been gone, I hope it hasn’t been too hard for you to overcome.

“I know it must be lonely, and the pain is very real.

“I want you to be happy, even when you shed your tears. That is why the roses will
be sent to you for years.”

* * *

“The roses will come every year, and they will only stop when your door is not answered, when the florist stops to knock. He will come five times that day, in case you have gone out.

“But after his last visit, he will know without a doubt, to take the roses to the place, where I’ve instructed him. And place the roses where we are… together once again.”

* * *

The above story written by an unknown author conveys how beautiful a marriage is that’s nurtured by love, thoughtfulness, and fidelity… which goes even beyond the grave.

* * *

For me, the story’s parallel and inspiring message is to see couples growing old together gracefully and faithfully, possibly seeing the blessed day they’ll celebrate their Golden Wedding Anniversary and perhaps even farther. That would be a marriage made in heaven.

* * *

THE LIGHTER SIDE. A girl wrote a Valentine’s card to her boyfriend? She said: “If you marry me, I will be faithful to you till eternity.”

At the bottom was a postcript (PS): “I want your answer on Saturday otherwise I’ll look for another guy.” (Faithful till eternity?).

* * *

IRRESISTIBLE. Johnny has been a charitable, God-fearing man so one day the Lord told him, “As a fitting reward, ask three wishes and I’ll grant you.”

* * *

“First, I want billion.” Poof! There’s a flash, and a paper with a Swiss bank account number appears in Johnny’s hand.

“Next, I want a Ferrari.” Poof! Another blinding flash, and shiny Ferrari is parked next to him.

* * *

“Finally,” Johnny says, “I want to be irresistible to women.” Poof! There’s another flash, and Johnny turns into a box of chocolates.

* * *

For inquiries, e-mail: belsvd@yahoo.com.

By Fr. Bel R. San Luis, SVD
Link:
http://www.mb.com.ph/OPED20090215148158.html

Leave a Reply

